The Project

WHAT IS DAKTARI FOR MAASAI?

The Plan

The project is based on the idea of providing mobile, dental aid for people in the peripheral regions of Tanzania, who live there virtually without receiving any dental care – one dentist for every 100,000 patients. This means that tens of thousands of patients in urgent need of treatment never visit a dentist even once in their life and have to live with seriously diseased teeth, pain and the associated consequences for their general state of health. That is why “Daktari for Maasai” regularly visits the most remote areas of Tanzania, in order to provide these people in particular with dental care.

The Successes

The tiny clinic had neither running water, nor electricity and very little medical equipment at the beginning of the project. Together with Dr. Axel Roschker and various partners, Martin Jörgens, Profesor Invitado of the University of Seville, and his team have built up a highly effective, mobile dental clinic and the necessary infrastructure in recent years. Patients can be now treated on mobile chairs with modern equipment. More than 2000 patients have been provided with dental care in this way, some of whom had never been to the dentist before.

The Team

Inform

Dr. med. dent. Caroline Kentsch

Aesthetic and Functional Dentistry, CMD Treatment, (Aesthetic Periodontics)

Dr. med. dent. Caroline Kentsch

Aesthetic and Functional Dentistry, CMD Treatment, (Aesthetic Periodontics)

Add as many items as you want by

pressing the "Add Item" button. Remove

any item by selecting "Remove me".

Dr. med. dent. Martin Jörgens

Implantology, Aesthetic Dentistry, Laser Dentistry

Dr. med. dent. Martin Jörgens

Implantology, Aesthetic Dentistry, Laser Dentistry

Add as many items as you want by pressing the "Add Item" button. Remove any item by selecting "Remove me".

Additional Support

• Dr. Axel Roschker, an oral surgeon from Cologne • Dr. med. Afschin Fatemi from Dusseldorf Kaiserswerth, an aesthetic surgeon and dermatologist • Dr. med. Martin Bongartz, a surgeon from the Josef Hospital in Moers • oral surgeons Dr. Roberto Garrido Serrano and Dr. Francisco Azcarate Velazquez from the University of Seville, Spain •

Experience Report

There are only 250 Tanzanian dentists for Tanzania’s 52 million inhabitants. Entire regions of the country thus have to make do without any dental care. Patient usually have to go on long treks through strenuous journeys to find a dentist in a distant city. As the general standards of dental practices are unfortunately still very poorly developed, there is widespread fear of receiving dental treatment. And other necessities are usually so pressing in many regions that dental treatment must be postponed for economic reasons.

It took us almost a year before our Dental Specialists practice succeeded in launching the “Daktari for Maasai” project in 2011. Equipped with perfect mobile equipment, great enthusiasm and adventurous spirits, we set off for the following destinations: Lake Manyara, Ngorongoro Conservation Area and Serengeti.

In 2011, I set off with my partner from Dental Specialists, Dr. med. Caroline Kentsch, on the first trip to Tanzania with Condor from Frankfurt. We first drove to Lake Manyara and worked there for two days. After crossing the Serengeti with some difficulty, we finally reached Ololosokwan.

We were engaged on a daily basis both at the Lodge Kleins Camp and at the clinic in Ololosokwan. We initially also needed support at the clinic, which had neither electricity nor running water at the time. A generator was delivered to us that was more or less working, and we adapted our ways of working to the new Maasai environment. We quickly learnt to cope with the heat, tsetse flies, mosquitoes and many other insects. As we did not yet have any treatment chairs we had to treat the patients all day standing up. Our patients were treated either sitting on an office chair or lying on an exam table. On the next trip, our team grew. Dr. Axel Roschker from Cologne, specialised implantologist and oral surgeon, actively assisted me along with two employees from our Dental Specialists clinic in Dusseldorf.

We equipped the locations we were working at with medical equipment with the help of the German medical aid organisation Medeor. Since then, the Lake Manyara and Ololosokwan clinics have been supplied with surgical suction pumps and instruments. We even installed two more mobile dental chairs plus surgical lights there. This staffing allowed us to provide over 650 Maasai with dental care in 14 days. The local population gradually warmed up to the project. The primary and secondary school classes in Ololosokwan now regularly visit our highly specialised dental clinic.

A good 650 patients were also treated in another project stay in January 2013.

We would like take this opportunity to thank Condor ConTribute for consistently helping us with the transport of medical and dental supplies. A dental adventure project of this kind would hardly be possible without such support. And by doing so, Condor ConTribute also directly supports the needy people in Tanzania. The gratitude of the Tanzanian people who we treated free of charge is indescribable and not comparable to anything else in the medical field.

Many thanks also from Daktaris for Maasai.

Bon voyage – Na Safari Nzur

Impressions from Tanzania

Das Projekt

WAS IST DAKTARI FOR MAASAI?

Das Vorhaben

Geprägt ist das Projekt von dem Grundgedanken der mobilen, zahnärztlichen Hilfe für Menschen in den Randregionen Tansanias, die dort praktisch ohne zahnmedizinische Versorgung leben - auf einen Zahnarzt kommen 100.000 Patienten. Das bedeutet, dass Zehntausende von dringend behandlungsbedürftigen Patienten im Laufe ihres Lebens niemals einen Zahnarzt zu Gesicht bekommen und mit schwer erkrankten Zähnen, Schmerzen und den sich daraus ergebenden Folgen für ihre Gesundheit leben müssen. Daher besucht „Daktari for Maasai“ regelmäßig die abgelegensten Regionen Tansanias, um insbesondere diese Menschen zahnmedizinisch zu versorgen.

Die Erfolge

In der winzigen Klinik gibt es zum Start des Projektes weder fließendes Wasser, noch Strom und nur wenig medizinische Ausrüstung. Zusammen mit Dr. Axel Roschker und verschiedenen Partnern konnte Dr. Martin Jörgens, Profesor Invitado der Universität Sevilla, mit seinem Team in den vergangenen Jahren eine überaus effektive, mobile Zahnklinik aufbauen und die entsprechende Infrastruktur schaffen. Mittlerweile können die Patienten auf mobilen Stühlen mit moderner Ausrüstung behandelt werden. In den letzten Jahren konnte so mehr als 2000 Patienten geholfen werden, die teilweise vorher noch nie beim Zahnarzt waren.

Das Team

Informieren

Dr. med. dent. Caroline Kentsch

Ästhetische und Funktionelle Zahnmedizin, CMD-Behandlung, (Ästhetische Parodontologie)

Dr. med. dent. Caroline Kentsch

Ästhetische und Funktionelle Zahnmedizin, CMD-Behandlung, (Ästhetische Parodontologie)

Add as many items as you want by

pressing the "Add Item" button. Remove

any item by selecting "Remove me".

Dr. med. dent. Martin Jörgens

Implantologie, Ästhetische Zahnmedizin, Laserzahnmedizin

Dr. med. dent. Martin Jörgens

Implantologie, Ästhetische Zahnmedizin, Laserzahnmedizin

Add as many items as you want by pressing the "Add Item" button. Remove any item by selecting "Remove me".

Weitere Unterstützung

• Herr Dr. Axel Roschker als Oralchirurg aus Köln • Dr. Afschin Fatemi aus Düsseldorf Kaiserswerth als Ästhetischer Chirurg und Dermatologe • Dr. Martin Bongartz als Chirurg aus dem Josefhospital in Moers • Die Oralchirurgen Dr. Roberto Garrido Serrano und Dr. Francisco Azcarate Velazquez von der Universität Sevilla aus Spanien •

Erfahrungsbericht

Den 52 Millionen Einwohnern in Tansania stehen nur 250 tansanische Zahnärzte zur Verfügung. Mit der Folge, dass ganze Landstriche komplett ohne jegliche Versorgung auskommen müssen. Im Regelfall müssen die Betroffenen lange Fußmärsche und strapazenreiche, lange Reisen auf sich nehmen, um in einer fernen Stadt einen Zahnarzt zu finden. Zudem sind die generellen Standards der Zahnarztpraxen leider noch auf einem sehr schwach entwickelten Niveau, so dass generell eine große Behandlungsangst in der Bevölkerung vorherrscht. Und meist sind andere Nöte in vielen Gebieten so groß, dass Zahnbehandlungen aus ökonomischen Gründen verschoben werden müssen.

Es dauerte ein knappes Jahr bis wir seitens unserer Praxis Dental Specialists das Projekt „Daktari for Maasai“ im Jahr 2011 starten konnten. Ausgestattet mit perfektem mobilem Equipment, großem Enthusiasmus und Abenteuergeist ging es zu den Zielpunkten Lake Manyara, Ngorongoro Conservation Area und Serengeti.

2011 startete ich mit meiner Partnerin von Dentalspecialists, Dr. Caroline Kentsch, zur ersten Reise nach Tansania mit Condor von Frankfurt aus. Zunächst fuhren wir nach Lake Manyara und wurden dort zwei Tage aktiv. Nach harter Serengeti-Durchquerung gelangten wir schließlich nach Ololosokwan.

Sowohl auf der Lodge Kleins Camp als auch in der Klinik in Ololosokwan waren wir täglich im Einsatz. Unterstützung brauchten wir zunächst auch in der Klinik, die bis dato weder über elektrischen Strom noch fließendes Wasser verfügte. Ein mehr oder weniger funktionierender Generator wurde geliefert, und wir passten unsere Arbeitsweisen der neuen Umgebung der Maasai an. Wir lernten zügig mit der Hitze, Tsetsefliegen, Moskitos und weiteren zahlreichen Insekten klarzukommen. Zu dem Zeitpunkt verfügten wir noch über keine Behandlungsstühle und mussten die Patienten den ganzen Tag über stehend behandeln. Die Patienten wurden dazu entweder auf einen Bürostuhl gesetzt oder liegend auf einer Arztliege behandelt. Beim nächsten Trip vergrößerte sich unser Team. Dr. Axel Roschker aus Köln, spezialisierter Implantologe und Oralchirurg, unterstütze mich tatkräftig zusammen mit zwei Mitarbeiterinnen unserer Klinik Dentalspecialists aus Düsseldorf.

Mit Unterstützung des Medikamentenhilfswerks Medeor, statteten wir die Plätze, an denen wir tätig wurden, mit medizinischem Equipment aus. Seitdem befinden sich chirurgische Absaugpumpen sowie Instrumente in Lake Manyara und in Ololosokwan. Dort konnten wir sogar zwei weitere mobile Zahnbehandlungsstühle nebst OP-Leuchten installieren. Mit dieser personellen Besetzung konnten in 14 Tagen über 650 Maasai zahnmedizinisch behandelt werden. Von der örtlichen Bevölkerung wurde das Projekt mehr und mehr angenommen. Die Schulklassen der Primary und Secondary Schools in Ololosokwan besuchen nunmehr regelmäßig unsere hochspezialisierte Klinik zur Zahnbehandlung.

Auch bei einem weiteren Projektaufenthalt im Januar 2013 konnten gut 650 Patienten behandelt werden.

An dieser Stelle möchten wir Condor ConTribute danken, dass Sie uns immer beim Transport der medizinischen und zahnmedizinischen Hilfsgüter helfen. Ohne diese Unterstützung wäre ein dentales Abenteuerprojekt dieser Art kaum realisierbar. Und damit unterstützt Condor ConTribute auch direkt die notleidende Bevölkerung in Tansania. Der Dank der Menschen in Tansania, die von uns kostenfrei behandelt werden, ist unbeschreiblich und mit nichts im medizinischen Bereich zu vergleichen.

Herzlichen Dank auch von den Daktaris for Maasai.

Gute Reise – Na Safari Nzur

Impressionen aus Tansania